AERA Division G Award Winners

Dear Division G Colleagues:

It is with pleasure that I announce the winners of the following Division G Awards.  Our congratulations to these outstanding scholars, and our sincere thanks to all the award committee members:

Distinguished Dissertation Award: Yeon Sun (Ellie) Ro (The University of Memphis)
Nominated by: Sarah Jane McCarthey from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Early Career Award: H. Samy Alim  (Stanford University)
Nominated by: Kris Gutierrez (University of Colorado, Boulder)

Henry T. Trueba Award for Research Leading to the Transformation of the Social Contexts of Education: Guadalupe Valdés (Stanford University)
Nominated by Chris Faltis (University of California, Davis)

Mentoring Award: Celia Genishi (Teachers College) & Cynthia Lewis (University of Minnesota)
Co-nominated by: (Prof. Genishi) Mariana Souto-Manning (Teachers College); Valerie Kinloch (Ohio State University), Marcelle Haddix (Syracuse University), Detra Price-Dennis (University of Texas, Austin), and Yolanda Sealey-Ruiz (Teachers College)

(Prof Lewis) Co-nominated by Carmen Medina (Indiana University) and Carmen Martínez-Roldán (Teachers College)

The winner of Distinguished Contributions to Social Contexts in Education-Lifetime Achievement Award will be announced in a forthcoming message.

Please note: the presentation of the above awards will take place at the Division G Business Meeting, to be held Saturday, April 14, from 6:15pm to 7:45pm at the Vancouver Convention Center 1st level/West Room 114 &115. Please encourage your colleagues, friends and relatives to attend the meeting and celebrate with the award winners.

That same night, following the Business Meeting, you are also cordially invited to attend the Division G & Division K Joint Reception, from 8:30 to 10:30pm at the Vancouver Convention Center, Floor First Level: West Ballroom B.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s