2016 AERA Division G Awards

Dear Division G Colleagues,

I have the honor of announcing 2016 Division G awards, which are given to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of our Division G colleagues.  As you know, all Division G members have amazing talents that they use to advance education scholarship in a diverse range of settings, on a broad range of topics, and using multiple methods and theories.  It is difficult to choose just five people to recognize.  The 2016 awards go to…

Dissertation Award: Dr. Shameka Powell, Tufts University

Early Career Award: Dr. David E. Kirkland, New York University

Outstanding Mentoring Award: Dr. Na’ilah Suad Nasir, University of California, Berkeley

Henry Trueba Award: Dr. Cynthia B. Dillard, University of Georgia

Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Richard Ruiz, University of Arizona*

Congratulations to our 2016 Division G award awardees!  We feel privileged to have each of these scholars as a Division G member.  (Please see the attached for photos of each awardee and the proper award titles.)

Sadly, we lost one of our honorees, Dr. Richard Ruiz, last year.  Dr. Ruiz’s wife, Marie Ruiz, will join us to receive the award in honor and memory of Richard, who gave so much to the Division. 

I would be remiss if I did not thank the committees who worked diligently to select these award winners.  Each year, teams of committed Division G members give their time and expertise to read the nomination materials and engage in the agonizing deliberation of choosing only one winner from so many deserving candidates.  Those teams deserve special thanks, as do their chairs Dr. Curtis Brewer (Dissertation Award), Dr. Django Paris (Early Career Award), Dr.  Marjorie Faulstitch Orellana (Outstanding Mentoring Award), Dr. Sonia Nieto (Henry Trueba Award), and Dr. William F. Tate (Lifetime Achievement Award).

Please plan to join us for the 2016 Awardees Announcement on Saturday, April 9, 6:15 to 7:45pm, Marriott Marquis, Level Four, Independence Salon D (with a smashing party to follow, co-sponsored with our friends in Division K).  On behalf of the Awards Committees and the Division G leadership, I look forward to seeing you there.


Elizabeth Birr Moje

AERA Vice-President for Division G (Social Contexts of Education)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s